A co-operative playschool is a non-profit organization run by parents who have joined together for the purpose of setting up and maintaining a low cost pre-school program for their children. Taking part in a co-operative playschool allows you to be directly involved with your child’s early education. Choosing a co-operative playschool gives you extra time to bond with your child and create memories together. Your child will always know that education is important in your family because you live it everyday.

Our co-operative is run by a group of parents elected to a Board of Directors. The Board makes decisions in the best interest of the children, while representing our membership.

2018-2019 Executive Board of Directors

Sarah Walker
President
president@vbcplayschool.ca

Sarah is returning for the fourth year as President. She is a nutritionist with a background in event management and banking. Sarah and husband have two daughters and have lived in Whitby for 3 years, and recently moved to Brooklin. Her eldest daughter started at VBCP in the fall of 2014 and they have both loved being a part of this amazing community. Sarah’s youngest is attending her 2nd year this year. Sarah is looking forward to being further involved in the VBCP community as well as the larger Brooklin and Whitby communities with her position on the Board of Directors.

 

Erin Taylor
Vice President
vicepresident@vbcplayschool.ca

This is Erin’s fifth year with the VBCP board as Vice President. She is an elementary school teacher specializing in working with children with special needs and in kindergarten education. Erin resides in Brooklin with her husband and three children. Erin’s eldest two attend Grade 1 and JK, and her youngest will be starting at the VBCP this fall. Being a part of the board has allowed her to be involved in her children’s education, to pursue her passion for educating young children and being involved in the community.

Krista Newton-Debono
Treasurer
treasurer@vbcplayschool.ca

 This is Krista’s second year on the board. She started as supporting officer and this year will be taking on the role of Treasurer.  Krista and her husband have lived in Brooklin for 9 years. Their daughter is starting JK after attending VBCP for a year and their son will be starting at VBCP this year in the Tuesday-Thursday class. Krista is excited to continue to be involved in the school and within the community.

Open Position
Secretary
secretary@vbcplayschool.ca

Open Position
Events Co-Chair
events@vbcplayschool.ca

Open Position
Fundraising Chair
fundraising@vbcplayschool.ca

Amy Hughes
Registrar
registrar@vbcplayschool.ca

I have 7 years experience with the financial institution ScotiaMcLeod which I enjoyed immensely. I am now in the midst of an indefinite hiatus raising my amazing 2 children (Nolan, 5 years & Camryn, 2.5 years).

Though I enjoy being home for my kids I miss the challenges of business. Joining the VBCP Board gives me the privilege of participating in a team & supporting my kids.

Shelley Fisher
Committees Chair
committees@vbcplayschool.ca

Sasha Regehr
Marketing and Admin Chair
marketing@vbcplayschool.ca